News‎ > ‎

Parish Update-Interim Parish Council- 17th September 2014

posted Sep 16, 2014, 9:33 PM by Aidan Collett   [ updated Sep 16, 2014, 9:33 PM by Parishes of The Holy Family ]
The following notice was distributed at Mass over the weekend:

Back in February, when the "Who is my Neighbour?" concept was first presented, the Parish Priests were asked to choose and send along parish representatives

Fr Mark chose Peter Farrelly and Jack East

Fr Joseph chose Nick Hoogeveen and Maggie Gribble (Paeroa) along with Robin Spencer, Dennis Mullan and Megan Paul (Te Aroha)

This group of people have met monthly since then to try and put a local plan in place.

In July it was decided that from this group (and including a school representative), an interim Parish Council would be formed. (By Canon Law all other Parish Councils cease to exist when a priest moves on)

The new Interim Council is as follows: Father Mark
Finance: Nick Hoogeveen (Paeroa) and Robin Spencer (Te Aroha)
Parish: Maggie Gribble (Paeroa), Megan Paul (Te Aroha) and Peter Farrelly (Morrinsville)
School: Mike Trainor (Paeroa), Steve Warren (Te Aroha) and Frances Gillard (Morrinsville)

The Committee Chairperson will be Peter Farrelly

We are in the process of meeting to determine our roles and to develop a constitution. In the meantime, all Committees at an individual Parish level will remain in place eg: Finance and Liturgy. The finances of each Parish will remain separate

Please do not hesitate to ask any of the team questions. We will do our best to answer them as best we can however we do not have all the answers ourselves!